Sunday, July 26, 2009

You Look Like I Need A Drink.

*Sigh* I took my children to their first baseball game today. The oldest (Joey) and the youngest (Hannah) were stoked, the middle one (Emma)....not so much. She was slightly stoked about getting one of those giant foam hands but, alas, I saw none. Either way, it turned out to be awesome! The seats were great, right behind home plate. We saw everything, every play, every pitch, foul, strike, hit, everything! Definitely the way I would have liked to experience my first ball game. The peanuts and the two GIANT Hawaiian shaved ice things we got were a high point. Home team killed the visiting team which, to be perfectly honest, I really didn't care about. I would have preferred my kids' first game was a Los Angeles Dodgers game but this was free and a great opportunity to experience something new with my family. Create memories and such. My daughter, Emma, was asked to go out on the field right after the national anthem and start the game by yelling into a microphone, "PLAY BALL!" It was really cool. After the game was over and the field cleared they let the kids run the bases. Everyone had a blast. All the kids said it was one of the best times they've ever had, which they always say after we do something different from what we normally do. I could tell they had a good time though which, obviously, makes happy. It was a hot day. About 101 degrees, not much shade at the stadium until the sun went down. As with any other scorcher, I left the windows cracked. I HATE coming back to a car that is insanely hot. Apparently, I left the passenger window a bit too cracked. We came back after the game and my wife's cell phone, cell phone charger, my ipod, my ipod charger, the face plate to my stereo (yup, just the face plate), a UN-opened pack of cigarettes, and an UN-opened pack of gum were gone. Yeah, that's what I said. "The fucking gum? Are you serious?!" Yeah, it was gone. Now, like I said, I ALWAYS leave the windows cracked. Hell, I even leave 'em cracked when it's cold. It's just something I do, and even though I left the passenger side cracked a little bit more than usual I couldn't have gotten my arm in there to unlock the door. Granted, I'm a big guy, but I couldn't have got my arm in there. But the skinny, tweeker looking dude we parked next to.....he definitely could.

*Sigh* Anyone who knows me knows that that ipod is ALWAYS with me. Even when I'm in other people's cars I have it. Just in case they get bored of listening to that awesome hall & Oates "best of..." CD. Maybe they've been wondering if that new Paint it Black ep is as good as everyone says (you never know). 74.26 GB worth of music. 51.8 days worth of music. 22, 263 songs. That is was this inconsiderate jerk got. That and a totally sweet pink razr phone, which we've been meaning to cancel anyways. OH! and the let's not forget the smokes and the gum. That guy was totally planning ahead. "Well, if I'm gonna smoke these I'd better take the gum too."

A million things were/are running through my head when it comes to this whole situation. Here are some.....1. IT COULD BE WORSE! They could've taken a child. That'd suck, right? I mean, it's one less mouth to feed and all but I'm kind of attached to 'em. 2. MATERIAL POSSESSIONS, CAN'T TAKE THEM WITH YOU. CAN YOU? When I die, I'm pretty sure I'm not gonna be asking for my ipod. I mean it's possible, but I doubt it. But seriously!! I loved that thing. All of my music in a small little device. AHHHH! I know it's all material but, man o' man, it hurts! We have a trip to Los Angeles planned in a few weeks. Talk about a quiet. Long. Drive. Such is life, right? I'd like to think about it this way. Because of me, there is a small time crook out there another step closer to cancer, has got some incredibly fresh breath, a super cute phone, and some of the best music he's never heard.

*Sigh*