So, the Lakers won! 2009 NBA Champions. I breathed a HUGE sigh of relief as the third quarter started and I soon realized there was no way we could lose.
This probably sounds totally weird to most but I get incredibly stressed out whenever the lakers play. It's a game, right? In all actuallity, it is. It's just a game. If they lose, the world will not end. I won't die. But for some reason, I get so into it. Like everything is riding on this.
When I was a kid, I can remember being at my Grandmother's house during a Laker game and everyone in the house watching and screaming. Screaming at the television, certain players making bonehead plays, making good plays, the refs making bad call, etc. I remember sitting there and hating every minuite of it. I use to think how stupid this all was. They're getting mad about a game? A game that is boring and just plain stupid. I pretty much grew up disliking sports and the people who played them. Getting hassled by jocks in school had a lot to do with it, I'm sure, but I just didn't get it. Why get all excited about a game?
Fast forward. Years later, here I am in front of the television. Yelling, clapping, screaming. Good or bad. My kids are probably in the other room thinking exactly what I did when I was thier age. "What an idiot". I don't understand it anymore than you do. As my Dad would tell me, "sometimes the apple grows up exactly like the tree". Stoked.
Monday, June 15, 2009
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)